Just Checking: Take Care of Yourself!

*Ethically, this post should begin with the disclosure that my friend is the boss of Cheerios in the US and her team just aired a new advertisement that I love. I love the ad because it is personally meaningful to me. It reminds me of my dad. Read on:

20130601-184848.jpg

There’s a new ad on TV, and it’s generating a lot of controversy. Surprisingly, it’s from Cheerios.

The newly released Cheerios ad shows an adorable little girl asking her mother if Cheerios is, “good for your heart.” Her mother assures her that it is, reminding the audience about the importance of whole grains.

from blog.generalmills.com

from blog.generalmills.com

No longer suspicious, the little girl runs away with the cereal box. In the next scene, the girl’s sleeping father awakes with a pile of Cheerios atop his chest, covering his heart.

When I was a not-so-little girl, my dad had his first heart attack. From the moment the phone rang and I found out that he had heart disease, I’ve never stopped worrying about him. I know how the little girl in the commercial feels: worried but not powerless.

image from webpronews

image from webpronews

Eating right can have an incredible impact on your health and wellness. And for many of us, we need the support and gentle prodding of the people who love us to serve as a reminder that what we eat matters. My dad is a biologist, and still, from time to time he needs a reminder.

According to the heart foundation, every 33 seconds someone in the US dies from heart disease and by 2020, heart disease will be the leading cause of death throughout the world.

Some people are angry that the ad features a bi-racial child, her caucasian mother and her African American dad. In reality, commercials showcase all types of families. Past ads have shown adopted children, seniors and of course siblings. Every message is the same: take care and eat well.

Great ads deliver emotional messaging, capture your attention, remind you of the product benefit, and help you, Mr. Consumer, grasp why or how the product helps you.

It’s a bummer that some people don’t like this commercial because of its casting. I think they’re missing the message: when you love someone, do everything you can to take care of them.

My Pinterest and Twitter profiles both say, “tell someone you love them, today” because honestly, you never know. Tomorrow is not promised, and I love the little girl in this ad because her actions are so heartfelt.

Readers, you mean so much to me. I’m getting personal: I hope that you are eating right.

(Of course, I hope that you are eating Cheerios!).

And more than anything else, I hope that you are not taking anything in your life for granted. I hope that you are loving your friends and family with all your heart!

❤ have a beautiful week, readers. I love you!

About Orange Marigolds

Welcome to "Orange Marigolds". My name is Kim, and I am the editor of this blog. I write food, travel and lifestyle articles. I love Halloween and host a lot of fun giveaways! I live in Michigan with my husband, son and dogs. Thanks for visiting.
Image | This entry was posted in life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Just Checking: Take Care of Yourself!

  1. Foodie in WV says:

    Heart disease runs on my dad’s side of the family so I am very mindful of what I eat. I think that ad is cleaver, so many people have to cause drama about everything.

  2. Tasha-Ann says:

    That was a very touching read. Some people just need something to complain about because apparently there aren’t enough bad things in the world to be upset about already for them. I’ve actually just started to eat more healthy and I hope I can stick to it.

    • amovingstory says:

      Thanks, Tasha-Ann–congrats in your healthy eating. One meal at a time is the best approach for healthy eating. At least, that’s what has been working for me!! ❤ kim

    • Patricia says:

      I’m in a multiracial marriage and was actually thrilled to see that they used a multiracial couple. I don’t feel like this model is represented often enough in the media.I think you’re right, some people just need something to complain about!

  3. I saw that there was talks of this commercial swirling around as being controversial…. and I wondered how that could be! It’s sad that such an important message is being lost in the composition of the family in the commercial. Good reminder, thanks for sharing!!

  4. Meredith says:

    Thanks, Kim!

Leave a Reply

