Word of The Year!

From Organic Spa magazine's Pinterest board!

From Organic Spa magazine’s Pinterest board!

I realize the year started eight days ago.

Baby New Year is practically a toddler as I write this.

But, the other people I live with just returned to their routine, which means that I am just returning to my routine.

It’s the transitory property of time management, I guess.

Anyway, I was checking in on one of my favorite bloggers, when I got inspired. She doesn’t waste her time making New Year’s Resolutions.

Why bother? She’s got a better plan.

Each year she selects a word of the year for herself.

Liv and her computer!

Liv and her computer!

How does it work, you ask? Simple. Each year Liv, (and many other bloggers too) sit down and select a word meant to inspire them and guide them through the year.

According to the veteran word of the year experts at The Lettered Cottage, “The goal is to select one word that has the potential to inspire you and create intention in your life, and have fun incorporating it into your thoughts and goals all year long! “

You can download this awesome PDF and pick your own WOY!

You can download this awesome PDF and pick your own WOY!

Last year, Liv’s word of the year was bliss. Armed with this word, each Friday she posted a list of the bliss in her life, and wrote about how that word manifested itself in her life and invited her readers to celebrate whatever brought her bliss that week. It was awesome. Here’s a link in case you missed it!

I love it! Plus, I think resolutions are lame. If anything, they’re like focusing on something about yourself that sucks. Wouldn’t it be more fun to focus on something fulfilling?

As I was thinking about this, I checked my inbox. JBS was thinking about this too, and had sent me the word of the year toolkit. Her note read, “here’s the PDF of the toolkit. It’s a lot to look at, but I am going to choose a word.”

Everyone was doing it.

I didn’t want to be left out.

I downloaded the word of the year toolkit.

And, let me tell you. It was a lot to look at. And a lot to think about. One word for the entire year?

I decided to cheat and select “purpose” as my word.

Done!

Easy peasy. But, I also wanted to do the exercises too (because I like being right and wanted the confirmation). Turns out I was wrong. While purpose was a great word, it wasn’t going to work for me. Imagine that? Cheating wasn’t a shortcut. Hmpf!

After actually reading the PDF and doing the work, I settled on four words: discover, delight, cultivate and savor.

I nixed savor when I couldn’t think of any, “proactive habits I could incorporate into my life” if I picked that word.

I nixed cultivate when I couldn’t set any measurable goals for the year, based on that word. Besides, it reminded me of gardening. Gardening does not equal success for me.

Discover + Delight

I was left with discover and delight and I was stumped. Both words seemed like they would advance my personal goals and be motivating for the year. I looked both works up on Dictionary.com.

To discover, was defined as, “To find something that had previously existed but had hitherto been unknown.”

And, to delight was defined as, “A high degree of pleasure or enjoyment; joy; rapture.”

Delight sounded happier. Positive. Uplifting. The kind of person I want to be.

Gimme some of that.

Done.

“Delight” it is.

Plus, I reasoned, while I am working on being delightful, I’ll also be discovering new things and sharing them with you. With pleasure. And joy. And rapture!

From nillabelle.com

From nillabelle.com

This exercise was fun for me. I’d highly recommend it. It makes me excited for everything to come!

It was nice to think about focusing on one positive thing, establishing a common thread and considering what I want from 2013.

As I think about my word of the year, here’s what comes to mind:

  • I’m delighted to learn new things.
  • I’m delighted to go new places, make new friends and see the old ones!!
  • I hope that by 2014, I’m a little more of a delight to be around (I can admit that I was a bear 1H 2012).
  • I hope that by choosing this word, I delight, and appreciate the little things a little more.

Cheers to a delightful 2013!! I’m looking forward to the year and I hope you are too!!

About Orange Marigolds

Welcome to "Orange Marigolds". My name is Kim, and I am the editor of this blog. I write food, travel and lifestyle articles. I love Halloween and host a lot of fun giveaways! I live in Michigan with my husband, son and dogs. Thanks for visiting.
This entry was posted in expat, life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

