Download @CharityMiles and Support @TeamFox and @FoxFoundation

Supporting the Fox Foundation via Charity Miles

There are 57 days left in the year. Can you believe it? And with the end of the year comes the desire to reflect, remember and reassess how I can reinvest what I’ve been given to help or support someone else. I love Twitter, and there are a few people on my feed, that I love to follow and model. One Tweeter, TaraLynn McNitt, posted yesterday that she had signed up for Charity Miles and was earning money for charity by running and working out. After seeing that, I had to learn more.

I Googled Charity Miles, and discovered that it was an app that could easily be downloaded for iPhones, iPods and Androids. Using your phone’s GPS, the app determines how far you’ve gone. If you’ve biked, you’ll earn 10 cents a mile for the charity of your choice. If you walk or run, you’ll earn 25 cents for charity. The app has a choice of 9 different charities for you to select and support. As you walk, run or bike, the app will measure your progress. Your physical activity earns money for the charity of your choice. I love the premise–and think it reinforces the point that each of us can take small steps to make a positive contribution to the life of someone else. 

Released this past spring, Charity Miles was created to help raise money and awareness. Describing itself as a for purpose company (versus a for profit) the company asks all users to share their committment via Facebook, and demonstrate their committment to their chosen cause. By downloading the app, in essence, you’re considered a “sponsored athlete” as money is given to the charity of your choice. Isn’t that cool?

I don’t know about you, but I hate running.

With a passion.

And, I don’t like going to the gym.

The idea that going to the gym would serve a greater purpose really appeals to me. When I downloaded the app, I immediately saw two charities that appealed to me: The Wounded Warrior Project and The Michael J. Fox Foundation for Parkinson’s Research.

Borrowed from Tumblr

As I looked at the charity options I thought of my friend, who is a bad-ass (where is my use of this word coming from? First the panda, now my friend). She trained and ran a marathon in honor of her mom,who has Parkinson’s. She wasn’t one of those people who was a classic runner–but she worked hard, trained, ran (and finished). When someone demonstrates that level of mental toughness and commitment to a cause greater than themselves, you have to be inspired. I decided it would be fun to set up my app to walk, run and bike for the Fox Foundation. I also changed my Facebook and tweeted some of my Twitter friends to encourage others to download the app too. At 25 cents a mile for walking, I’m sure I’ll rack up donations just doing my holiday shopping in the mall.

As your thoughts turn to what you’re thankful for, I’d like to encourage you to take a small step : download (and use) this app. It’s a simple way to support one of nine worthwhile causes. And it’s proof that you don’t have to be a super star to be a sponsored athlete.

Let me know how it goes!

Fox Foundation

About Orange Marigolds

Welcome to "Orange Marigolds". My name is Kim, and I am the editor of this blog. I write food, travel and lifestyle articles. I love Halloween and host a lot of fun giveaways! I live in Michigan with my husband, son and dogs. Thanks for visiting.
This entry was posted in life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Download @CharityMiles and Support @TeamFox and @FoxFoundation

  1. Meredith Tutterow says:

    Kim, I am so touched and honored that you are earning Charity Miles for the MJFF. I am also a little giddy to have gotten a shout-out (as a bad-ass, no less!) in your amazing blog.

    I am with my mom and dad this weekend, and I’m going to tell them about what you are doing for the Fox Foundation–they will be so moved. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

