Review: VIPS Restaurant

We’re on our own. Getting ready for school and running errands. The dishwasher, although out-of-the-box new is broken. No one wants to do dishes on the last day of vacation, so I told the boy to shower and dress: we’re headed to the diner down the street.

VIPS is lovingly described as the “Denny’s of Mexico” because it is a comfort food diner with big windows and weak coffee. The waitresses wear brown dresses, white oxfords, white aprons and black hairnets.

When you first walk in, there’s a cash register, magazine stand and oodles of toys for sale. I haven’t been to other locations, but the one by our house has a nautical theme and is filled with model ships, ship lights and other sea-themed treasures.

The portions are large and the booths are spacious. Breakfast is served until 1:00 pm, which worked great for us. We were tired and wanted to sleep in–but still wanted waffles and pancakes.

The waitress was friendly and efficient. She came back to check on us frequently and we were pleased with the service. The boy ordered hot cakes and they came with juice. Much to my surprise they also came with ice cream and a variety of sundae toppings. He was delighted so I let it slide.

My food was traditional diner fare. The waffle was an exact replica of the thin waffles found at Waffle House. The bacon was thick and was almost more of a ham slice then a piece of bacon. The coffee, as previously noted was weak–but it’s a dinner so I didn’t expect a lot!

All in all, we like diners and we’re excited to come back!

20120825-122338.jpg

About Orange Marigolds

Welcome to "Orange Marigolds". My name is Kim, and I am the editor of this blog. I write food, travel and lifestyle articles. I love Halloween and host a lot of fun giveaways! I live in Michigan with my husband, son and dogs. Thanks for visiting.
This entry was posted in family, food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

