Cultivating Container Crops!

My friends know I just love a project! So, it should come as no surprise to anyone that as one of my farewell presents, they considered my new large patio, passion for food and projects and purchased the First Lady’s book on gardening.

Michelle Obama’s story resonates with me: smart lady abandons career for husband, must find something to do. I’m excited to make the most of our outdoor space and garden. Initially, I had planned to become an urban beekeeper using some of the new and fancy tools from the new Williams Sonoma Agrarian line but DH and the boy were not supportive. Further research uncovered that the bees in urban setting often sting (shocking!) those nearby and it’s a dangerous game. While, committed keepers have made it work, ultimately, I felt like we probably didn’t need one more thing to fight about and with the plight of the honeybees, I did not want to endure a well-meaning but failed do-it-yourself attempt at their expense.

My friends are amazing gardeners and have been growing large, healthy crops. I’m planning to bother them and learn how to cultivate some container grown crops that will be tasty to serve at our table–just like the First Lady!

20120714-130059.jpg

About Orange Marigolds

Welcome to "Orange Marigolds". My name is Kim, and I am the editor of this blog. I write food, travel and lifestyle articles. I love Halloween and host a lot of fun giveaways! I live in Michigan with my husband, son and dogs. Thanks for visiting.
This entry was posted in expat. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

