I See Something Spec-tacular

Talking to DH every day, it’s becoming more and more clear that we are really moving to a third world country.

While I’m looking forward to the adventure, the reality is, at my core, I’m a Girl Scout. I like being prepared and I like to have options. I’ve worn contact lenses for more than 20 years, and most of my life, I’ve always had a back-up pair of glasses. Because disaster could strike at any moment since we’re moving to a city with an active volcano, smog, corruption and a new, unpopular president, I thought it might be smart to have an extra pair of glasses in case I end up sleeping in a shelter or on the floor of the American embassy.

You never know!

The night we moved here, I misplaced my glasses in the hotel. I never replaced them because I hate glasses. My friends who wear them are hip, cool and classy. They have cool frames and the personalities to match. This is not me. It’s intimidating.

So, I checked out BC’s website and saw that there was a store that offered BC employees a buy one get one free deal on frames. A quick review of Yelp noted that while the service rocked, the prices were high. I hate over-investing in items I don’t want or need, so I chickened out and went to Costco.

Social scientist that I am, I decided to head to a Costco that was totally out of my way, in an area that has a reputation to maintain: Eden Prairie. Because Eden Prairie is one of the best places to live in the nation, I figured their eyeglass collection would not disappoint. I was right! Selection was limited, but the frames on hand were more than adequate. I found frames that were Warby Parker knock-offs, and real Coach and Betsey Johnson specs! I settled on a few options and was thrilled to see that after purchasing one pair, I could get $25.00 off the second pair. With frames starting at $39.00 and the price of lenses being $100.00, this was a great deal. With lots to look forward to, and a safety-minded perspective, I chose two frames (a girl needs a back up) and in the end, I decided to go with frames that would look great on CNN, in case of emergency!

20120705-222735.jpg

About Orange Marigolds

Welcome to "Orange Marigolds". My name is Kim, and I am the editor of this blog. I write food, travel and lifestyle articles. I love Halloween and host a lot of fun giveaways! I live in Michigan with my husband, son and dogs. Thanks for visiting.
This entry was posted in expat, family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

