Traveling to the Travel Clinic

20120327-170709.jpg

In our home we draw straws to see who has to take the Boy to the doctor. He HATES the doctor. We hate taking him to the doctor. So when we found out that we had to take him to the travel clinic to secure a letter for the Consulate and an updated series of shots, we were filled with dread. When we arrived in the doctor’s office the first thing the Boy asked the doctor was, “Do you have one of those rubber hammers? Are you going to smash my knee? Did you know I kicked the last doctor?” Wow! I wasn’t really sure what to say. Thank God the doctor was the nicest person I’ve ever met and cheerfully told him, “I’m so glad to hear your reflexes are intact!”

The visit was pretty uneventful. We spent a fair amount of time talking about “Travelers Diarrhea” and secured two prescriptions for emergency use. The doctor also provided us with a series of CDC brochures. Not sure who’s in charge of graphic design at the CDC, but I think it’s fair to say that they have a wonderful sense of humor because the brochure entitled, “Rabies Vaccine: What You Need To Know” has a gigantic raccoon on it and certainly has “Scared Straight” written all over it. Fortunately, the doctor and I agreed that the chances of our getting bitten by a raccoon in the world’s 5th largest city were low, at best.

About Orange Marigolds

Welcome to "Orange Marigolds". My name is Kim, and I am the editor of this blog. I write food, travel and lifestyle articles. I love Halloween and host a lot of fun giveaways! I live in Michigan with my husband, son and dogs. Thanks for visiting.
Image | This entry was posted in Mexico and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Traveling to the Travel Clinic

  1. expatlingo says:

    The expat life is a great life and you sound like you’re ready for a great family adventure. Best of luck with your move to Mexico City!

Leave a Reply

